Outings
Leave a Comment

Hanlan’s Point – Lighthouse!

Ever since the first time my mother brought me to Centre Island, I fell in love. Not necessarily with the island, but with the ferry ride over there. You see, to get to Centre Island, or Centre-ville, you have to get yourself down-town Toronto to the Ferry, pay your entrance fee then board a small boat across to the island. The ride over, though sometimes crowded if you go after school when all the kids are out of school, is very enjoyable. There is a certain kind of peace that comes with the mild air blowing over my skin and through my hair while I stare out at the rippling waves of the lake, wondering just how deep it really goes down. Then, lifting your eyes to see Toronto like you’ve never seen it before, just a landscape of tall buildings. The Skydome (Roger’s Centre) sitting beside the CN Tower and you think, THIS IS TORONTO!

I like going to the islands on my day off in the middle of the day when all the kids are in school.

But I digress.  Don’t get over to the island much lately because of adulthood and work and school and rushing but a few days ago I woke up one morning wanting to go out and experience something. My friend was talking about some Lighthouse and I figured I should look it up. The story behind the Lighthouse intrigued me, being an author and all – it had something to do with a ghost that haunts the place but beyond that I LOVE history. You can read the history here.

After spending the night before staying up until the wee hours of the morning writing on a novel (the deadline is a week) I finally hauled myself out of bed without a giant tug of war which my bed lost, and took a shower. I dressed, called the TTC to find out how to get down to the ferry and grabbing a bottle of water, my camera, a notepad, pens and my wallet and cell, I was off.  I didn’t know why I brought my cell phone because after getting out of the subway I turned it onto silent and chucked it into my bag. The thing is I am not joined to the hip with my phone as many others are. I can leave it at home the whole day without going through withdrawals. The train ride down wasn’t a busy one or a crazy one because it was right after rush hour. I’m going to say this though, leave a whole day for this adventure if you chose to do it. It takes time to get from where you are especially in the down-town core  and if you miss a ferry, depending on the time you go, you probably have to way anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour for the boat to come back to take you to the island.

Anyways, here are some pictures I took on my trip for the day.

 

Take note, if you go to Hanlan’s Point during the ‘off season’ you will have to get off with everyone then walk over land, about 2KM to the lighthouse. It’s a long way if you walk but it’s so worth it. I had to walk all the way there so I used that walk there and back to the ferry as my workout for the day. Bring lots of water and I went by myself but if you’re that kind of person, bring someone with it. It’s a marvellous experience.

Happy trails…

KAT

This entry was posted in: Outings

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

