Music and other art
Leave a Comment

Backstreet Boys – In a World Like This

“When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.” 1 Corinthians 13:11

This is very true about the Backstreet Boys. When I was younger I loved this group because their music was happy,dance-ie and just all around a good time. The music was great for those days when you wanted to hear “Backstreet’s Back” and break out into zombie dance like the routine from Michael Jackson’s Thriller. And there were days when you want to sing “Get Another Boyfriend” because well–the song is just full of attitude and you against the world and it’s all good after a good round of BSB. But we are all older now and while most things stay the same, most other things have changed. We’ve changed.

In A World Like This is a wonderful testament that just because we got older doesn’t mean we have to stick to the same old music. Of course the classics will always remain the classics. I mean, there will be times when we just want to turn on “Get Down”, crank it and dance like a crazy person around the house. But there are other times when we want to listen to music that shows our age because we need new motivation for the new lives we’re living.

Some boybands grow up but their music never does. They try to go back and recreate the music that put them on the map. They never evolve and they wonder why their fans don’t take to the new music like the old. They don’t think their fans from yester-year would like to remain their fans but the music just doesn’t hit them the same way because they grew up. The Backstreet Boys took that into consideration and while songs like “Feels Like Home” and “One Phone Call” give us glimpses of the old Backstreet Boys, other songs like “Madaleine” and “Permanent Stain” reveal to us a new band that is breath-taking and refreshing. Their song “Trust Me” dips into a little Jason Mraz sound which I appreciated and has stuck on replay from time to time.

The new music is a little dark, a whole lost of encouraging and what I love to call Grown Folks Music – That’s a good thing, in fact I personally think its great!

Even though I’d like maybe one or two sexy songs to get down to, In a World Like This is a wonderful testament that even though the group grows from Boy Band to Band – and even though the boys became men, their music doesn’t have to suck. They can do grown folks music and make it work with their old fans. They understood that since they grew up, their die hard fans did too, and that’s okay.

Stand out Songs – Permanent Stain, Trust Me, Feels Like Home, Madaleine, Soldier

Hugs,

Kato

This entry was posted in: Music and other art

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

