Events, Outings
Leave a Comment

PRIDE – Opening Ceremony

Iceberg

This year, 2014, Toronto is hosting WORLD PRIDE! There are plenty of things to do during Pride week but since I work during the week I have very limited time to check out much of anything. Then I found out Steve Grand was going to be there so I made time. I grabbed my friend after her interview and we headed down town really early. We wandered around for a bit, her being a bit late at her interview and me wandering down the the street from Yonge and Dundas square to the HMV–three floors of musical goodness. After finding myself buying three CDs, I decided it wasn’t a good idea to stay so I quickly made my way back to the Eaton centre and sat on the floor, waiting for my friend’s arrival.

When she finally showed up my feet were killing me so while she visited some family working inside the mall, I made my way across the street to Payless just to buy one pair of shoes, $89 dollars later, my feet were cushioned and I was ready for Nathan Phillips Square and all the Steve Grand-ie goodness to be had.

After snacking on an iceberg (a slushie topped with ice-cream) – very delicious and refreshing we hurried in because Steve Grand was having his sound check. To our surprise,  my friend’s mostly, there was already people sitting on lawn chairs close to the stage. I gave her one of those I told you so looks and we took our seat. It was a long wait for seven thirty just did not seem to want to come.I mean, there we were, sitting there on the ground waiting, my back getting tired, my bum going numb but still we waited. Soon the festivities began and it reminded me of the Olympics. From choir to speeches down to a flag raising ceremony. But the one thing that was even better than all of that, were Native dancers and prayer and cleansing which I’d never seen before. I couldn’t take any pictures of those because they happened close to the reflection pool and I was on the other end of the space close to the stage. I was disappointed but I knew why they did it–they wanted everyone to experience a little of everything and I respect that. The ceremony continued with guest speakers from different countries–people who spoke on how far their countries have come to accepting LGBT or not. Some of the stories made me cheer others broke my heart but the aim was the same – to get equality for people, not as just gays but as humans.

So, before I climb on my soap box, here are some pictures from World Pride Toronto 2014 #wp14toronto

Flag Raising Ceremony The guys in blue, a choir who sang Somewhere Over The Rainbow

Madam Premier and her wife

Tom Robinson “Sing If You’re Glad to Be Gay”

Steve Grand performing

Melissa Ethbridge

Surprise!!! Serena Ryder Performs with Melissa Ethbridge!

What perfect night is complete without fireworks?

Keep on trucking,

Kat

This entry was posted in: Events, Outings

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

