Outings
Leave a Comment

A Night at the Movies – Good Hair

There are so many wonderful little surprises in Toronto–places you never dream existed with fun activities you only imagined being able to go to. The Bloor Hot Docs Cinema is one of such gems. When Number Tew asked me to go a few weeks ago I agreed. She said a good show would be on and it was a night out and I adore her so it wasn’t that hard of a decision to go. Then the weeks went by. I forgot and became ill. But the evening , I was feeling better and I pulled myself out of bed and went. This night they were showing Chris Rock’s Good Hair.

Nestled in between Pizza parlors and other shops at 506 Bloor West, the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema is just steps from Honest Ed’s and the Bathurst station.  They opened their doors in 1913 but back then they were called the Madison Theatre and was one of the first in Toronto. Over the years the theatre has gone through its fair share of trials but today it stands in the same location, showing films that mean something to a whole new generation or two.

It is a brilliant place to go if you wish to have an evening of cinematic culture and enlightenment. The movies shown here mean something and are rather quite enjoyably and depending on the movie, is quite family friendly. Visit their website and see what they are showing and for how long. The site will also give you a rundown of the cinema and quite a few other things that are awesome.

The movie I saw was Chris Rock’s Documentary Good Hair. It was a commentary on African American women and their hair. You’d be surprise about the things we do for beauty, we African American women. I mean, I knew I do some stuff to my hair then tie it up in a pony tail and life goes on. But there are women out there who spends a King’s ransom just to get their hair done. Surprisingly, the only person in the documentary that was doing any swearing was the people being interviewed. But, Chris Rock’s humour and heart was all over this thing.

At the end we had a little bit of a round table if you will with the host interviewing Arisa Cox, Host of Big Brother Canada. And she had some rather enlightening stories about how she’s had to give up roles or jobs because she refuses to do anything chemically to her hair or straighten int. I realized then like so many others in the audience that even hair can be a political issue. The movie generated such buzz, such conversation, it was wonderful to see. So, if you want something new to discuss at the dinner table or around the water cooler, why not check out a Hot Docs movie?

*hugs*

KAT

This entry was posted in: Outings

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

