Music and other art
Leave a Comment

#RisingStar – Jesse Kinch

Some of you know me and you know I’m not really a fan of reality shows. What I AM a fan of, is music, no matter the genre. If its good and make me feel something I will dig it. If it makes me think, dance and feel something then the singer/band got me good.

When I first saw the commercials for Rising Star I remembered rolling my eyes. I mean here was another singing reality show to go along with The Voice and American Idol, and America’s Got Talent and Duets and all the other long list of shows that either crashed horribly or went on to outlive its prime to the point the audio is messed up and the cameramen seems drunk during live shows (American Idol *cough cough*). But then I found out as a Canadian I could vote. Well wait a minute – this could be interesting.

With Luda, Kesha and Brad Paisley as judges and Josh Groban as the host, I figured, this would be good for a laugh or two. Not to be rude but to me this looked like a show that would be one of those freak shows that Karma would probably kick your butt for watching but you just can’t look away deals. To start off you had the typical singers – you know the ones? A mediocre rock singer, a few country singers here, a soft voiced folk singer there and then Jesse Kinch takes the stage. In his intro interview he has this soft, nerd-esque voice when he did his intro interview. I even stopped paying attention when he was speaking and went back to editing my latest book. Then he stepped up to the microphone, opened his mouth and gold fell out. His first song was “I put a Spell on you,” and good heavens how right he was. I just have to think about his rendition and I get goosebumps all over.

He is twenty years old and it is SO rare to get this rawness and this maturity from such a young singer. He has a poise about him that makes his art even better and with an air of down-to-earth fabulousness makes him one of the sexiest singers on the show.

I didn’t think this kid could make me jump up again but then he sang Whipping Post by The Allman Brothers Band – a song I’ve never heard of before, a band that I’ve only experience in passing and I was on my feet bowing in that Wayne’s World we’re not worthy kind of way, then lifting my hand in the air like I was in church and I did not care!  Now I am a fan and the thirty dollars I had on my iTunes account is gone!

Now Rising Star to me is all about Jesse. If you are not watching Rising Star, you should be. If not for anyone else but for Jesse Kinch. And if you haven’t downloaded the app yet so you can vote, do it. Sundays on NBC in Toronto where I live but you can find it in your listings if you look.

Jesse Kinch is a gem and I’m a fan.

Keep on Rocking!
KAT

This entry was posted in: Music and other art

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

