Music and other art
Leave a Comment

Jo-Date night #OhYeah!

Let me be honest. I am not a Zoe Saldana fan. Yes, I am on of those nerds who thought they should have cast someone else as Uhuru on Star Trek but that’s water under the bridge now. But I just can’t watch and enjoy her. I’m not sure why. So, when I saw she was going to be in Guardians of the Galaxy I made up  my mind it was going to suck and I was definitely not going to see it. But want to know how they got me? Rocket. Yes ladies and gents,they got me with the talking raccoon! *hangs head*

I know, I am that easy! A talking raccoon who doesn’t know he’s a raccoon got me! I don’t know, I have a strange sense of humor, or maybe it could be because I’m a writer and in my head I could totally see all the trouble this little guy could get into through the movie and I loved what I imagined. Either way, Rocket pulled me in–then I found out Vin Diesel is the voice behind GROOT and Bradley Cooper is the voice behind Rocket! Wait…what?? That sexy, deep voice is Bradley Cooper? Then add to all that Dave Bautista is Drax…*fans self* Okay, bring on the end of the galaxy!

But I go out with Number Tew on what I call our Jo-Dates and our most recent one was to see Guardians of the Galaxy. We saw in Ultra AVX 3D which was awesome – IMHO. I was a bit late and we missed the previews of what movies are coming but we were right on time for the beginning of the movie. From the very first frame, this movie had me. There was emotion and drama and laughing and I was having the time of my life.  Now let’s talk about the movie, including music, casting, directing and all that good stuff, right?

Now, how do I do this without giving serious spoilers?

First things first, the story. While it is your typical boy’s mother died, boy disobeys father and leaves when he’s told to stay put, boy gets kidnapped by a strange looking ship using a bright white light, years later boy is all grown up, sexy as sin and scarred. I enjoyed it. It had a certain finesse I never expected and twists and turns I truly didn’t see coming. They weren’t the kind of surprises that made you palm your forehead saying why why why with each slap. They were welcomed surprises.

There was something uber cool about Chris Platt playing Star Lord. He was suave, funny and made me think there has to be a part of him in real life that is just that big of a douche-bag.

Dave Bautista as Drax the Destroyer

While Vin Diesel’s lines were the same throughout the whole movie, his character Groot had the most heart. This seemingly bumbling tree who eats himself from time to time go the most laughs, the most awws and even a few tears. So this proves you don’t have to have all the lines to be the star. Even Zoe Saldana was amazing. But the one I want to elaborate on is Dave Bautista playing Drax the Destroyer.

Now, over the past few years, more and more wrestlers and MMA fighters are sticking their toes into acting – I blame Hulk Hogan. From George St. Pierre as Batroc in Captain America: The Winters Soldier to Dwayne The Rock Johnson in Fast Five, The Tooth Fairy, The Rundown etc to John Cena in The Marine and even Randy Coutoure in The Expendables – very few of them is any good. The Rock is good, yes. John Cena – Meh. Randy Coutoure should be happy they gave him very little lines and a big gun. But Dave Bautista shocked me and in a great way. There was something wonderfully amazing seeing him flex his thespian muscle and giving Drax such a soul.

Bradley Cooper killed it as Rocket. That little guy rules! What I learned from seeing this movie? Never, EVER get a raccoon drunk, It never ends well – *grins*

This movie is going to surprise you at every turn. There are some casting in this movie you will not see coming.  And now, don’t run to IMBD, that’s cheating! There are people that had me pointing to the screen with one hand while flailing to the other after gasping and poking my friend.

Okay sure, it wasn’t perfect but its as close to perfection as any Marvel movie has come to date. Every thing was on point for me. I laughed. I cried. I said “oh no he didn’t!” and a few times I said “omg! Why won’t she just DIE!?” But all in all I saw a great movie with a wonderful friend who I adore like crazy! Wouldn’t you say that was an spank-taster-rific date night?

But yes, I would recommend this movie. It’s good for the boys’ nights out, the girls’ night out, the Jo-Dates and for those who just want a great movie that happens in space with kick ass aliens, a little mystery and all that good stuff. One thing I didn’t like though and I would be remiss to not mention it here is the fact Zoe Saldana’s character, the species is like the Orion in Star Trek. Not sure if that was deliberate or not but it was a little strange for me. But that’s a little thing. The movie is epic.

Hugs,

Kat

This entry was posted in: Music and other art

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

