Outings
Leave a Comment

Romancing the Capital! – #RTCOttawa

I began reading romance novels when I was eight years old.  Sure, that seems like a little young but I grew up in a third world country and books weren’t readily available. We had libraries, yes, but they were far away from home and the Library bus came only once every three weeks. To add to all those difficulties, the library bus only allowed you to borrow three books each visit. I, being voracious reader, would finish my books before the first week was even over. Then I would be craving something to read, something–anything!

One day I was hiding under the bed, reading the tail end of my latest Nancy Drew, when I crashed into my mother’s box of Harlequin novels. You know the ones–the old Mills and Boons that were so old the pages were no longer a nice white but a strange, dingy brown-ish colour. They were still in great shape aside from the discoloration but I didn’t care. I devoured book after book and by the time I turned ten, I had read every single one. And by the end of reading all of those, I develop this love and yearning to write romance novels.

At 21, my dreams came through. After having to rewrite my first novel twice due to losing it when my computer crashed, I became a published author. All of a sudden I was Kendra Mei Chailyn, writer of Sensual Interracial Romance and it felt amazing! (Then I started writing as myself, Kadian Tracey too). Since then I’ve always wanted to go to a convention. But over the years I just couldn’t afford them. They were always across the border in the US and they were pricey to get to–are pricey to get to.  Now, thanks to Eve Langlais I will be attending my first Romance Convention come April 2015! It is called Romancing the Capital and it is going to be amazing! There will be over 50 talented Canadian and American Romance/Erotic authors in attendance. Authors include myself – Kadian Tracey (Also writing for Kendra Mei Chailyn), Olivia Loche, Eve Langlaise, Dahlia Rose, Sara Fawkes and so many more – (click here to see the full list). There are plenty of events planned, from parties to give-aways, signings and the chance for authors to meet with the readers who support them and meet new readers as well.

Romancing the Capital will be in Ottawa so if you are close and looking for some good reads, new to you authors and your already favored authors visit the website and find out how you can be a part of this history making event!

love,

Kat

 

This entry was posted in: Outings

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

