Events, Music and other art
Leave a Comment

Toronto International Film Festival #Tiff

Every year around this time the stars aligned and celebrities descend on Toronto to show off the latest in film extravaganza. This year, 2014, was no different. From Sam Worthington  (Avatar) to Shonali Bose (Margarita with a Straw) there was an array of movies to get lost in. This year there was a whole menagerie to chose from including but certainly not limited to movies about an Indian girl with Cerebral Palsy who aches to be a song writer, to a documentary about the plights of people in the Sudan, or a girl from Belgium who years so desperately to eat, breath, sleep, speak BE Japanese–no matter the craving, this year’s TIFF would no doubt have something to feed it.

The one difference about this year’s TIFF was that I was there – Well I saw two movies (Margarita with a Straw and Tokyo Fiancée)  at this year’s festival. The reviews are forth coming but I thought I should do this post as little bit of in introduction.

My experience with the TIFF is not vast by any means. This year I merely skimmed the fringes of what it is to attend. While I hope to be involved more intensively in 2015, this year was my introduction to the festival. I didn’t do any of the fancy things like gala premiers or the like. It was a busy time and most of it was spent waiting in a line for entry to the movie. If the movie started at 5pm you have to be there about 3:30pm, to line up so you can get good seats or if you are in a group, so you can sit together. I felt sorry for people who came in late in groups and they were sitting alone all over the theatre.

When Number Tew asked if I wanted to see a movie at the festival I jumped at the chance. I’d never been and every year I’d say I’d go the next year and the next year I wouldn’t be paying attention and find out about it after it was almost over thus not going. I was lucky because my introduction to the festival came at no cost to me so I was happy to go.

For the general public who wishes to attend, the tickets are a bit pricey compared to the regular movies but it can be worth it. And think about it, some of these creators aren’t as big as Steven Spielberg so they need all the support we can give them. And since the festival only happens once per year, when you have a little extra money at some point during the year before, just stash it away for your festival feedings.

Read the TIFF website and find a movie you are interested in and just take a day and go downtown and enjoy the ambiance.

For the most part I find the audience was kind. They were always forthcoming when you’re a newbie and manage to get completely turned around trying to find the right line to join so you can get into the theatre. The volunteers (since TIFF is a charity) were exceptional. They were smiling and it made me feel welcome. I love that when I go somewhere.

I didn’t see any stars close up this year. But it was okay. The movies and the company more than made up for all that.

Hugs

KAT

This entry was posted in: Events, Music and other art

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

