Music and other art
Leave a Comment

Night out At MacQueen’s with #TheoTams

I found out last night when I was at Macqueen’s for Theo Tams that it has been six years since he won Canadian Idol – Six years! Sheesh I feel old. After a long day of classes, I tried taking a half an hour nap then peeled my body out of bed. I didn’t want to leave because I was exhausted and I had tons of edits to do but the thought of hearing Theo sing just did me right in.

Theo - Back PocketIt’d taken a while, but Theo’s album Back Pocket finally dropped and we were going to celebrate, wish him well with lots of cheers and hugs. Why? Because he is not only an amazing songwriter/singer, but he is a spectacular person and finding that combination in a person these days are rare.

I’ve never been to Macqueen’s before and while I was invited by Lady Steele, I thought I’d love to snag my other friend Khannie to go with us. She absolutely insisted on driving – now listen if you don’t go mad early, getting a spot close to Macqueen’s is a drag. It’s one of those pubs that don’t have their own parking but since its free to park on Pape after 6pm, it shouldn’t really matter. But if you go late, you have to park quite a-ways-away hoof it to the actual pub. Luckily, we got a spot just about 80m away and the rain stopped by the time we arrived.

Macqueen is in Leslieville–right around Queen and Pape on Pape. It is a pub on a stretch of street that isn’t overly rowdy.

Theo was supposed to go on at 9pm. We got there at 8:30pm and the place was already packed. My friend and I went in and ordered a drink and somehow managed to steal Theo away for a quick second for a quick hug and to deliver a message from another friend before he had to hit the stage.

There are very few people that I hear sing that either brings me to tears or give me goose-bumps – Celine Dion, Garou, Taeyang, the boys from JYJ–and Theo is right up there. There’s a refinement in his voice that always makes me stop whatever I’m doing at that moment and focus on nothing but his voice.  It seems no matter how many times I hear him sing live, it’s the same reaction I have to him.

If you’re into amazing music – I’m talking songs that make you feel something or set your brain working, check out Theo on Youtube, then if you love him, grab a copy of his album (all of one it’s up to you) on iTunes. You will not be sorry – oh and if you want to know where he’s playing next, hit him up on Twitter. Or you can ask me.

My favorite songs for him to perform are Arizona and Stay.

Hugs,

Kat

This entry was posted in: Music and other art

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

