Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

Toronto Blue Jays sings the Blues – #TorontoBlueJays

On September 28th, 2014, the Toronto Blue Jays did what Toronto fans have come to expect from their boys of summer–they lost.  They wrapped up a season that I watched carefully because I wanted to see how they would handle being six games on top of the division. They did it horribly because though they were so high, even above the New York Yankees, the Blue Jays limped to a stop below the Bronx Bombers.

I began getting a bad feeling at the end of May.

When their descent began, everyone, myself included, thought for sure they’d make some kind of a move during trading season. But as the trade deadline came and went without a move from the boys in Blue, that bad feeling I was having, got worse.  Fans I spoke with felt the same thing I was feeling–most weren’t sure whether to be mad or disappointed by the lack of initiative by the Blue Jay bosses.

Then came the injuries –

Edwin Encarnacion – Gone.

Adam Lind – Gone.

Brett Lawrie – Gone.

Then Brett came back early – even though they didn’t think he was ready – soon left again with a worse injury than before.

These major players had no back up so when they were gone, the Blue Jays – for lack of a better phrase – became useless.

And the pitching – repeatedly the team brings the Jays into a great lead and then the bullpen comes in and wham – lead gone, game gone.

To say that I, personally, am disappointed would be an understatement. Alex Anthopoulos saying the team “fell short” is another understatement. This was the year they could have really done something huge – why? We had Melky Cabrera – a huge bat. But as usual, the Toronto Blue Jays have a habit of not utilizing players to their full potential. Another pesky little habit is training amazing players and giving them away to other teams.  But that’s neither here nor there.

My issue with the Toronto Blue Jays is they have given me nothing to be proud about. If anything, they are consistent and I guess that’s something to be proud of. But seriously, there has to be something to be done to pull this team from the dumps they’ve fallen into. Sure, fans would be sad to see most of the players go, but do SOMETHING – anything at this point. Loyalty is awesome and I dig it, but at what point do you stop and say the fans are paying for us to play so we should give them a reason to keep spending their money

There seem to be a disconnect or a lack of conversation or even accountability between the team and its fans. You go to any Blue Jays game and it looks like a ghost town. Fans just don’t care anymore. Why? At the end of every year they give the same excuses when they fall short – they constantly say they need to do better. Yet every year ends in the same infuriatingly disappointing results – failure. Then the finger pointing starts and the blame game begins.

It has gotten so bad that we aren’t even looking for a world series win anymore–we just want a playoff run – We’d be happy with just a run.

Enough is enough.  As a Blue Jays fan I’m tired of the excuses and lack of initiative. I’m tired of the disappointment and I’m tired of the broken way I feel each season I’m left watching October baseball with no Blue. I’m tired of the Toronto Blue Jays period.

Looking forward to 2015 season – and another bad end. Or maybe the Maple Leafs will give us something to take our minds off it….wow, there I go again, holding on to optimism.

Hugs to all,

KAT

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

