Music and other art, Reviews
Comment 1

Dropping Beats on Twitter

James Dray

Pic from @JamesDray_

Lord can you be the umbrella help me through this rain, so I can be a blessing for somebody else in pain.” – Image of Treasure by James Dray

Over the last ten years or so, social media has changed the way we do everything. Before, we would have to spend thousand of dollars on advertising. Now, we just need a Twitter account to reach thousands of not millions of eyes without paying a penny.

On my twitter, I may not have a lot of followers, but I follow some awesome people. So whenever I find a great talent, I share on twitter. Because of that, I am being followed by quite a few artists. From Euro winner Ryan Dolan, to country crooner Mark Owens. Recently, a rapper by the James Dray began following me. Normally, I am very weary of rappers since I really don’t like my music peppered with expletives and lyrics I can’t sing out loud. But I went and checked out James on Youtube.

He has one song in particular titled “Image of Treasure” that if you need some uplifting is the perfect song to have on replay. There’s a certain way he spits his rhyme that is very endearing and while his lyrics packs a punch, his voice doesn’t sound threatening. You know how DMX always sound as if he wants to punch you in the face for breathing? Not James – He has a refined sound that you rarely hear these days.

The song Image of Treasure one our kids really should listen to or adults who think life is just not worth it anymore. You know those days when you stick your dark glasses on and sit in public trying to go about your day and the world is just such a harsh place you start crying? In those moments you clamor for something to hold on to – this song is one of those.  It is the tune you put on replay like your iPod is stuck on it. You use it as your crutch to get through your day, through crowded down-town streets, crashing into people who don’t know you’re there even as they almost walk over you to get where they want to. The beat is contagious so it’s not like you’re listening to someone preach to you about how you should be thankful for life. While getting your soul healed by James Dray, you can dance–or if you’re in public and don’t want to dance like no one’s watching, you bop your head looking all cool and calm.

Please, check out James Dray. If you like what you hear, follow him on Twitter, say hello and tell him I sent you.

 

Hugs,

Kat

This entry was posted in: Music and other art, Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

