Rant-ish, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Social Networking #Changes

logo for ello

A few years ago, Myspace was the crazy. Everyone wanted a piece of it. Everyone wanted to be on it! You were nothing unless you had a myspace account. Musicians like Colby Collait got their big breaks on there and the world was its oyster. That is until a few nerds in their dorm rooms came up with a pesky little thing called Facebook. At first facebook was a big deal – it was new, and therefore hip and everyone wanted to be new and hip. Then the darkness gathered and facbeook became more of a bother than a useful tool.

Over the years, Facebook has become more of a headache than anything else, from families going on vacation and seeing their picture being used as an ad, to ever changing privacy settings, to having your private settings turned off because facebook decided to fix something that wasn’t broken before and not warn members–it goes on and on. There have been report of Facebook causing divorces! Can you imagine?

Lately, I’ve taken more breaks from Facbeook than any other social networks around. I’ve deactivated my account for months before going back. Why? It’s just full of drama that I really didn’t need in my life. Recently, a new craze has been slowly sweeping the land – it’s called ello (no caps on purpose for that).  So far it is not a massive pain but as someone pointed out to me, that could all change as the membership increases. Right now they are slowly rolling things out, beta-ing the network if you will and you either have to be invited or sign up to be invited.

Right now, I am just learning the ropes and so far, it’s proving easier every day.  Where facebook was easy enough to navigate when it began, ello is not that simple. It’s probably too simple to look at but you have to figure out what icon to click on to get what you want. The bio section allows you a short–and I do mean short–bio and a website which is helpful if you’re a big shot writer or singer or something of the sort. It allows a profile picture and a header–a fairly big header so you can personalize it a little bit to make it your style.

What else can I say about it? Well visit ello. I have a few invites if you want one comment below and I will invite you – I actually have three invites to give away if you want them. If you are already on ello, please follow me @Queennefertiti I will follow back!

Hugs,

KAT

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish, Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

