Cooking with Kato
Leave a Comment

Vegetable Soup – Cooking with Kato

Winter is here – to most of our horror! Can you believe it’s been a year already? But with winter comes catching the cold and boy did my family find that out recently. So my mother was the first to catch it, then my father and then yours truly. I hate being sick but before I caught the cold, I made some soup for my mother for she wasn’t really eating. When she is ill, she gets turned off from everything she would usually eat. I needed to make her something that wouldn’t make her ill – you know, cause a revisit of said food? So I made some vegetable soup.

Ingredients – What you need.

Photo by Kato About Town – Winter Vegetable Soup

I pack soup mix (preferably the one with the noodle in it)
Brocoli
Bok Choy
1 Large Carrot
Ground pepper
Salt
1 Small squash (or a half depending how much you like squash)
Peas (You can use green beans if you prefer. Also, I used Navy beans because they are easy to cook)

In a pot with water, add your ground pepper and salt and set to boil. In a bowl, clean up your vegetables and cut them up.  Once your pot begins to boil, add your peas, some of your squash and broccoli. You want those to cook out and give the water some colour. After the peas cook, add all your other vegetables and give them time to get tender. Then, remove some of your vegetable and add them to a blender. Pour in some of your soup water from the pot and blend. Add the blended contents back to your soup and let simmer for about five minutes. Then add your soup mix and let simmer until noodles within the mix gets cooked.

Taste, ensure the soup is to your likeness. If too fresh add a little more salt and pepper to taste.

Want to freshen this soup up a little? Blend a piece of frozen watermelon with your vegetable before adding it back to the broth. This will give it a fresh and lighter taste.

Enjoy!

Kat

 

This entry was posted in: Cooking with Kato

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

