Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

20 Days in – let the confusion begin!

Hello again world!

Happy New Year!

I am back! Where did I go? No where in particular. I was supposed to go see my sister in December but thought against it because of a bunch of stuff. So I wound up staying in Toronto and worked through the holidays, then took a week off to just breathe. After the week of being home and trying desperately to write something–anything I would up just editing old stories, re-reading a bunch of stuff and self publishing one short. But it seems I have the most patient readers in the world for the moment the short was out, it made it onto the bestseller’s list.

We are twenty days in and already I am fighting to keep the three new years resolutions that I made. I, along with millions of other women around the world has the grand duke of all resolutions on my list – lose weight. I want to do it to be healthy and to stay that way. So far, I’ve missed two days at the gym-not my fault but they were missed days. I have been eating healthy and smaller portions so I guess that is something.

Made to Bend, Not BreakMy next resolution is to write more.

The problem with that is I have no idea what to write. Well I know what I want to write but it just doesn’t seem to be making sense to me whenever I try putting it down on paper…er…computer.

I’ve always been a romance author and while I love the genre very much, the urge to write something else is strong within me–it is so strong I swear I felt a disturbance in the force. The thing is I’ve always wanted to write a general fiction story–maybe inspirational about a woman who went through remarkable odds and come out on top. The thing is, the last time I tried that, it wound up being my bestseller Made to Bend Not Break that I wrote for Nanowrimo one year. It came out spectacularly because I receive numerous reviews that are positive and even managed to get a Recommended Read from the ARe Cafe! Read the splendid review by clicking here!  Now the challenge of picking a genre–a new to me genre–and do it justice is just to great.

My best friend Taz is a screenwriter who is currently editing and revising her first finished script that she wished to sell. She is a fabulous writer and the story idea got me the day she thought of doing it and gave me a call to ask me my thoughts. The thing is, she always knew what she wanted to write. Even when I first got my first novel Destiny’s Cowboy published, she said, “you write the books and I will turn them into scripts!” She always knew she wanted to write movies and tv shows. But for me, I tend to like branching out, doing new things, surprising my die hard readers and gaining new ones. So, we shall see what I come up with in the next few days/weeks.

My third resolution is to make more time for myself.

Yes, I know, I’m with myself always. But, there is always some kind of stress or people around. Too often we think we need to be in the midst of everything all the time. The thing is, we don’t. Sometimes we just should take a break, lock ourselves int he bathroom, fill the tub with warm, bubbles and water and just spa-out. I tend to do that with a good book or wit my ipod and watch movies on Netflix. It’s becoming harder and harder for me to take time for me.

Why? Because with working, trying to get things started to get on with my life, blogging, working a day time job, trying to spend time with my friends so they don’t think I’m a complete jerk for ignoring them – there is very little time left for anything else.

So as you can see, the new year has barely gotten off its feet and already I am so confused by it it makes the brain hurt.  But it’s only 20 days in, right?

I wish you luck and love and laughter this 2015. I hope all your dreams come through and all your resolutions happen.

Hugs,

KAT

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

