Outings, Reviews
Leave a Comment

Lunch at Wahlburgers

Photo by Kadian Tracey

I am not a really huge fan of the TV show Wahlburgers but I do love me some New Kids on the Block especially Donnie Wahlberg and Mark. I’ve seen a few episodes of Entourage and catch a few episodes of Wahlburgers on TV and had a good laugh with them. But, when they decided to open a restaurant in Toronto, I was curious and excited. All summer long, we kept watching the website because they were supposed to be opened early summer but they kept pushing the date back. Finally, they were open and it was then for me and my friend to figure out a time when we could go together. Though others were asking to go with, my friend (we shall call her Aster) and I wanted to go with each other, we planned a date together around this new eatery.  Finally, on the day we visited the Steven and Chris show, we figured afterward we would just walk up the street from the CBC building and have something to eat at Wahlburgers.

Getting there, I almost walked by. Why? Inside the doors were shelves of clothing and caps. I thought it was a clothing store until Aster said it wasn’t that Wahlburgers sold clothing. *shrugs* I did not know that fact but I guess you learn something new everyday. The restaurant itself was clean and there were tons of television screens around the joint flashing images of the Wahlbergs and New Kids on the Block and Entourage images the whole time we were there.

First thing’s first. They are located right across from Gretzky’s on Blue Jays Way – I am not sure if that was a conscious decision on Mark’s part but that seemed a tad strange to me. Sure, as someone trained in Marketing and that kind of thing I understand it, but I don’t know if I’d put my restaurant across from the Great One’s in that area.

Another thing I have to say is the place was very green. It was as if every can of neon green pain threw up in the room. The chairs were green, the walls were green, the writings were green the menu had green on it–and it isn’t a soothing kind of green. It was the kind of green that slapped you in the face the second you’re in the door.

While I get, green is the family colour, it is just too much for the space.

the Our Burger at Wahlburgers – Photo by Kadian Tracey

Now to the food–We ordered the Mud Pies (If you are driving, I do NOT recommend this drink. It contains alcohol but if you’re not driving–try it…it mixes some of my favorite things Ice-cream, cookies and alcohol). The time between when we ordered and when the drink and food came was magnificent. Service was quick which we appreciated after sitting in a studio for almost three hours. The waiter, Theo (apart from being strikingly handsome) was kind and knew what he was talking about when it came to what to order. He smiled and was very funny and understanding about my surprise about what did not come with my burger (I’ll explain below).

The burger was one of the most delicious things I ever put in my mouth. It was cooked perfectly, juicy and so yummy, I had to give it a moment of silence.  What I did not like, was the fact French Fries did not come with the burger. They sell you the burger but you have to order sides extra. I’m not sure who’s idea that was but is the dumbest thing I’ve ever encountered in a restaurant like this.  But I did order fries and was pleased I did. They were fresh, I could tell because they were hot and when you bite into them, they were crunchy on the outside soft on the inside. They were a little bit salty but that’s because I’ve cut out most salts from my diet so my taste buds were kind of freaking out.

The Mud Pie at Wahlburgers – Photo by Kadian Tracey

Overall, my experience with Wahlburgers was a pretty good one. I was surprised there weren’t more people there as well. There were a few guy sitting at the bar watching one of the television screens quite intently and a few people entered while we were there.

I was curious as to where the bathroom was but didn’t get around to asking. There were no signs showing the location of one but I guess it wasn’t important enough for me to ask.

Aside from the look of the place the food was good and the staff knew what they were talking about. They were polite and smiling which makes for a good time, right?

Hugs,
Kat

This entry was posted in: Outings, Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

