Outings, Reviews
Leave a Comment

Korean Cowboy – #JoDate

Korean cowboy – Photo by Kadian Tracey

My Mojo is leaving me for a month! Can you believe it? No Jo Dates for a month! It’s going to suck especially since its winter *cries*.

But I, Kat did the friend thing – as per the friendship manual (*grins*) and took her to lunch-er-dinner at the Korean Cowboy. When we did CELTA certification together, we went to have dinner at this pub with everyone from our CELTA course and walked by this place. I saw the sign and I remember giggling at the thought of a Korean cowboy. I thought it was the cutest thing ever!

Then I realized it was an actual restaurant and have had this obsession with actually going just because of the name. So, when I was trying to figure out what we should do for her going away (for a month) we wanted to go see Annie. But, if I wasn’t going to see my Mojo for a month, there was no way I wanted to spend our limited time together in a dark movie theater staring at a screen. With that said, we changed our plans and after a few failed starts (our schedules not matching, the weather dumping on us and the snow guy not clearing it etc) we finally managed to brave un-ploughed sidewalks, rush hour traffic and some guy who was reminding us we needed to repent because “the end is nigh” to our dinner.

The Korean Cowboy is located at the intersection of Yonge and Eglinton-2868 Yonge. You know where the movie theatre is? Beside the Indigo bookstore? That’s where.  It’s located in a spot that if you’re walking on the same side of the road, and keep your head straight, you will miss it. It is a small space from the outside but once you step through the door, it goes inward and upward.- meaning it has a second floor. Stepping through the door the first thing I noticed was that it was clean. Most of these small places tend to be littered with trinkets and other things that should remind you or make you feel as if you are in that country. The Korean Cowboy wasn’t tacky but modern.

We were ushered in and seated and after the menu came, we browsed it and I have to say I wasn’t impressed with it. It was the lunch menu so of course it didn’t have much on it. We were half an hour early for dinner. While the waitress was willing to assist us by asking the chef to make us something from the dinner menu, the chef however could not obliged my order because, well it was a bit different than what he cooked. That was understandable. I would rather him say he couldn’t do it than try and mess it up.

Our full meal at the Korean Cowboy – Photo by Kadian Tracey

Anyway, I wound up ordering some French fries and the beef with rice.  Now I know, this may sound simple, but it was to die for. Since I’ve been eating healthy, I have been cooking my own food for the most part because I am trying to cut out all the added salt in my diet. It’s hard to eat out and not have your food be overwhelmed by salt. But my meal was perfect. It had enough salt to make the meal delicious without being overpowering.  The subtle spices were good and not too much and blended well with everything else in the bowl.

The French fries were good – not too salty.

Mojo got the kimchi fries with the lettuce tacos. I can’t speak to the tacos but the kimchi was really good. It was my first time having kimchi fries and it won’t be my last. I have a feeling making those things had the possibility of going really wrong.

Price $$ – Eating here will not break your wallet but it will be a good time.  For both of us for drinks and our food our bill was $36.

I was very pleased with the restaurant. The staff was willing to accommodate us even though we were the ones who showed up too early for dinner time. Eating in a clean atmosphere is important and the Korean Cowboy gives that.

Hugs,

KAT

This entry was posted in: Outings, Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

