Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

A Single Nerd’s Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s day is over. And I have to admit, it wasn’t all bad this year and that was because–I think–I made a conscious decision not to torture myself since I had to put pants on and go outside like regular folks.

Actually, now that I think about it, it was the best Valentine’s day ever!

For most, it’s a day to show those in your life some love. That is what most people see it for, a day to hug their loved ones a little tighter, say I love you a little louder. To others the day is a rotten occasion, one that must not be named. To them its just another reason to gouge brainless morons who thinks the best way to appease their lover’s vain tendencies is to purchase overpriced things that will just wither and die in a few days anyway. That’s just a dragged out way of saying Valentine’s day suck for most people and they’d rather light their pants on fire, while still wearing them or run down the 401 naked before they acknowledge the day.

But like it or not Valentine’s Day happens every year and for most of us, every year we want to crawl into bed, pull the sheets over our heads and sleep until all the bleeding red and pinks disappear from every store in every city.

This year, I had to work–working is not bad. But nine hours on a Saturday is no fun, especially when you deal with people who have no respect or manners for anyone else. The day was crappy already because it was Valentine’s day, now add to that the fact I now must talk to ungrateful, inconsiderate folks all day.

Sacre bleu!

I sat around listening to everyone talking about their plans, listened to people gush about how they had tickets for Fifty Shades of Crap, helped another girl at work make reservations at one of the restaurants I’ve reviewed for herself and her boyfriend, while trying desperately to maintain my professionalism.

I am a constant professional when I’m at work. When I go home, close the door and pull a pillow over my head–well, that’s a completely different thing.

Somehow I managed to get through the day.  As time wound down for me to brave the frigid temperatures back home, I think my mother took pity on me and called to offer me a ride home. I gladly took it because that meant warmth even though after work all I wanted to do was go home, take a nice bath, maybe watch a movie and my mother take that chance to stop at every store on the way to our house.

On Valentine’s night, she decided to stop at this Caribbean goods supermarket and while she headed in,I made a beeline for Winners. I wasn’t sure why–well actually, that would be a lie. I caught sight of a sale sign in the window and I wanted to see if there was any way I could get a new purse that didn’t cost an arm and a leg. I felt lied to. There wasn’t really a sale. The bag I’ve had my eyes on was still almost two hundred bucks.

I wandered the store, browsing the shoe section, looking at the lotions and oils then somehow found my way into the lingerie section. Not particularly sure why I wound up there but I wandered until I saw a beautiful number. It didn’t take much convincing for me to pick it up. Though I normally would grab something like that, bum around the store a little longer, then put it back and leave, this time I also picked up a red nail polish called Saturn Seduction and made my way to the cashier. I did something I’ve only done one other time before and that was because I just felt like something different. I, Kato About Town, bought lingerie!

You’re shocked – Don’t worry. Take your time and catch your breath…I’ll wait.

Now that you’re back, let’s continue.

My plan, should I find my mother in the bustling, busy aisles of the grocery store, was to go home, have supper, take a shower, get dressed in my sexy new digs–well that was as far as it went. We finally made it home. I ate, helped clean up the kitchen then took my shower. I tried writing a little bit but kept getting distracted by NCIS:LA reruns on television. Eventually, I focused on NASCAR, while debating writing a romance novel about a NASCAR driver but that fancy quickly died when I once again fell down the youtube black hole. You see, I pay for Netflix (I have NO idea why since I find youtube much more interesting anyway) but Netflix doesn’t really have much of anything these days.

So there I was, all big girl sexy, it was Valentine’s day, chilling watching a bunch of grown men drive round and round in a giant circle.

Then I remembered, I had ordered my newest obessession on DVD and while it arrived a week or so before, I had been so busy prepping for ROMANCING THE CAPITAL that I had completely forgotten! I spent the rest of the night, watching DEATH IN PARADISE.

This, ladies and gents was my best Valentine’s Day ever! Want to know why? Okay, I’ll tell you. It was the best because I spent my few hours of it, catering to me. I loved myself enough to do something fantastic for me. You see, the whole day was spent catering to others, answering their calls, retrieving their messages, making their appoints–but for that last few hours of the day from hell, I turned it all around and made it all about me–for once.

Like RuPaul said, “If you can’t love yourself, how in the hell are you going to love someone else?”

So, I’m taking a page out of the great Ru’s books. I’m going to TRY to love myself a little more each day, do kind things for myself…actually, I think I may go on a date soon….

Hugs,

Kat

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

