Reviews
Leave a Comment

NSFW Power Ranger Short: Showing my NERD to the world!

***Caution, will contain spoilers***

How can anyone forget the Power Rangers? I think everyone between the ages of  10 to 40 know these guys! Whether you grew up with Might Morphin or Dino Charge – we just have to see the customs and we get excited.  Created basedon the Japanese Super Sentai Series, this show has been a staple in North American homes for years now. Whether or not they’ve have gotten worse since 1996 is up for debate but they are still here almost seven teen seasons later. Now I have to say this, I tried watching the Super Sentia version with subtitles, and usually I love foreign films etc – and I watch TONS of Asian Drama like Liar Game and x Family but I couldn’t get over how whinny and noisy the characters were so I’ll stick with the English version.

For years, I’ve wanted them to make a reboot (though talks of Lionsgate making a new feature length movie is in the works and according to Jason David Frank they should start filming this year *crosses fingers*) I hadn’t really gotten my wish.  Then the angels smiled on me and I logged into facebook.

When James Van Der Beek was Dawson in Dawson’s Creek, I wasn’t a fan. I mean I didn’t totally hate the guy as an actor but I wasn’t crazy for him as I was for David Yost or Jason David Frank or any of these actors I grew up watching. In Dawson’s Creek I loved me so Jonathan Jackson-he was my BF for life lol. Anyway, over the past few years I found myself watching him more and more–JVDB I  mean–and getting more and more into him. Sure I wanted to throat punch him for playing that crazy guy who kidnapped my Reed in Criminal Minds and he made me laugh until I almost wet myself in Keshia’s video but he was growing as an actor which I liked.

Then, on one of those rare occasions, I clicked on a news headline on the facebook sidelines and was carried to a piece of my childhood now revamped to be bloody, profanity laden and dark as all heck – Power Rangers – a short film Joseph Kahn starring James Van Der Beek and Kathee Sackhoff (you know Katee, she plays Vic in Longmire).  I mean I am one of those people guilty of when I see James Van Der Beek’s name in anything I automatically think it’s going to be corny and just good for a laugh. I mean, the guy was in a Keshia video for crying out loud! I don’t think you can get any cornier than that, right? So I clicked on it and oh child! Let me tell you! It is worth that fourteen minutes of my life that I spent watching it from start to finish!

It was adult, dark, filthy, gritty – It was like if Power Rangers from back in the day decided to take a magic pill and turn into a REAL, ELE – you know, an Extinction Level Event?  The one down side I was a little disappointed on was what happened to Zach – the black ranger – of course they had to write the black guy being the one to get addicted to drugs, break into North Korea and killed a bunch of snappy dressed bad guys for stealing his “shit”. Le sigh.  And Jason…my poor, poor Jason…

I really loved this short film and hope, they can reboot this franchise because this old gal loved her rangers. I know, my nerd is showing but I can’t help it! This gave me a HUGE happy!

So here it is. Please check it out and don’t hesitate to let me know what you think.  I know there are those out there who says it’s dark and bloody and scary – but come on, the original rangers aren’t familiar to children these days. This new breed of rangers would be written for adults so if the new movie (Crosses fingers) comes out like this do not let your ten year old go see it.

oh and before you merrily click “play” below – make sure you’re NOT at work because it is definitely NSFW and if you’re home, use headphones, especially if you have kids in the house.

This just makes me really excited about Power Rangers again. I think I’m going to try finding my old VHS and watching all of Lost Galaxy again – Yes, I said VHS – the VCR hasn’t been used in like fifteen years but we still have two somewhere in this house – lol

hugs,
KAT

This entry was posted in: Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

