Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

It’s that time of year again #Allergies

Before you read this post, please read this – You must ALWAYS check with your doctor before beginning any medical/medicine regiment/changes. This post does not supersedes your doctor’s advice/recommendation. 

It is that time of year again.  Every year when the winter goes away and the trees begin to flower, one feels as if one is dying. Why?

You know that commercial where they announce says you want to seriously pave over the lawn? I’m having that moment. I want to pave over every lawn, forest, wooded area I see. In the mornings when I wake up I want to claw my eyes out, then my nose gets stuffy, and my eyes are watery and my throat is itchy.

You want to know what’s funny? When I lived in Jamaica I didn’t have this problem. When I go back to visit during this time of the year I don’t have any allergies–even when I lived in North Bay for two years I never had this issue–wait once but it wasn’t as severe as it is now. Mildly irritating at best–yes but never this bad. But as soon as I set foot back in Toronto, whamo!  And that’s not even the strangest part. I never had the issue when I was thirteen, fourteen, fifteen or even sixteen. The year I turned seventeen I noticed a change in my body and then every year after that, twice a year, this thing comes over me and I spend all that time just trying to breathe.

I usually take Claritin but though it says non drowsy it still knocks me out. The first time I took one, I was at work and they had to send me home. I couldn’t keep my eyes open. Sure, my allergies were not bad afterward but I couldn’t function. So, after that I would suffer in the morning, go home, take my pill and be knocked out for a few hours.

Next allergy season I the Claritin was a little easier on my body and it didn’t make me as drowsy but then I found out about Reactin and switched. The Reactin doesn’t make you drowsy (but you have to get that specific non drowsy one). It’s not as potent, I guess.

But I guess what I’m trying to say is, many of us suffer from seasonal allergies. And for as many of us that do suffer from them there are cures or ways to help us deal. Check with your doctor first before starting any of these. My doctor put me on Claritin because he saw how horrible my allergies were. Then he had to switch me because he thought I was having a reaction to it. So, be careful. Work with your doctor to find out what’s best for you and what will make you function like you normally do without allergies.

Hugs,

Kato

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

