Outings, Reviews
Leave a Comment

My Date with Myself At The Stone Cottage Pub #Metime

Every year I make the promise that I will be taking more me time and each year I am overworked, tired, upset, sad, all that rolled into one.  Monday, Victoria Day was no exception. It was hell. From people who had no clue it was a holiday to rude and ungrateful people who don’t understand that the world does not revolve around them and their needs. I thought my bad day was finished when I got to leave my workplace, that was boiling hot because the AC died in the morning.

But, like I keep telling people if it wasn’t for bad luck I wouldn’t have any luck at all.

On my way home, I got the first bus no problem. As I was getting off the first bus, I noticed my second bus leaving. I shook my head, waiting for the light to change and got across. Thankfully, about two minutes later, there was another bus. Happily, I climbed on, got settled into a seat out of the way, put my music on and opened my book. Half a paragraph in, the bus I was on made a strange gurgle sound then a grunt then went dead. The people around me must have thought I was nuts because I began laughing softly to myself.  I mean, how could my day be so bad? It just felt as if it was getting worse as the hours went by!

We sat on the dead bus and waited for another one to come then got onto that. The minute I got home, I took a shower crawled into bed with a bowl of ice-cream and turned on the television to watch Black Rain starring Shawn Roberts (an amazing LGBT movie if you can find the LGBT version by the way).

The porch at the Stone Cottage Pub. Photo by Kat

This morning (Tuesday) I woke up bright and early and headed off to work. The first bus was twenty minutes late which made me late for the second bus which made me late for work. Then I got to Tim Hortons wanting a hot tea and the line up was out of control with ONE person working the cash. Irritated I left the place without my tea and got to work. The day didn’t go well but it wasn’t as bad as the day before so I was thankful for that. Ten minutes in, I decided I was going to finish up my day and I was going to go on a lunch date with myself.

Many of you reading this may think I’m crazy–like that movie about that woman who decided to marry herself? No, I’m not that far gone–yet. I counted down the hours then the minutes and the minute I could get out, I ran. I got on my buses and even though it was a little nippy out, with threats of rain, I didn’t care. I made my way to the Stone Cottage Pub at the intersection of Kingston Road and Scarborough Gulf Club, found a seat on the covered porch and got comfortable with a glass of iced tea and the book I’d been trying to get finished reading for the past week and a half.

The waitress was amazing which after the past two days I had was a welcomed breath of fresh air.  She told me the specials, it was wing day so I could have had wings but since I’ve been trying to eat healthy for the past little while, I didn’t want to blow that out of the water. While I waited for my order to come, I snapped a few pics for this blog then went back to reading my book on the Regency years–yes I’m a nerd and I love it lol.

I ordered a Chicken Caesar Salad and onion rings and braced myself. I mean, yes, I was served there before but it was never anything like this. It was always during the summer time and during a game of some sort so it was always wings and beer type deal.

So you know when you order a salad from some places, and it comes to you and you look at it and instantly make a face just knowing you will NOT be putting that slush in your mouth? Yeah, I was bracing myself for that. But when it came to my table I was pleasantly surprised. As you can see from the picture, the salad was awesome. The chicken (tons of it) was piled on top, and the lettuce was properly drained. Though it looks like it, the dressing wasn’t overpowering as if they closed their eyes and just dump it in. The croutons were still crunchy and perfect. And sometimes when you order this kind of salad, its salty, not here. The salad was just right.

My onion ringers were hot and crispy on the outside like they should be. I took my time, enjoying my meal. Though the temp fell a little, I didn’t care. I was on my me date and finally things were going right.

When it comes to prices I rate this place at $. It’s not expensive, my meal came up to $16 after taxes.

I would like to do this at least once per week or even once a month. We all deserve a moment to ourselves to just sit in a place that makes us smile and remember what is good about our lives and this world.  We need that space to be with ourselves, to do something (a hobby) that makes us remember who we are. You see, sometimes we forget. Sometimes we get caught up in the world and everyone else’s drama that we lose ourselves, we lose that which makes us happy and at peace.  So in the next little while, take a few hours and go on a date with yourself. It will do wonders for you, trust me.

So, all in all, my food was delicious and promptly served, my iced tea was cold but not overly sweet – which is just how I like it-my waitress was friendly, kind and smiling and I read a whole three chapters.

All was finally right in my world.

The next time you’re in the east end, check out the Stone Cottage – and don’t worry, some of you may get their amazing yumminess soon because they have a food truck! From what I understand they are just waiting for the permit now so we will just have to cross our fingers for them right?

Hugs,

KAT

This entry was posted in: Outings, Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

