Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

Library Experience #Sterile #TPL

As most of you know, I went to my first romance convention in April of this year in Ottawa. It was wonderful – I think that should be repeated. And while there I decided to step up my romance writing game. You see, I usually write in the Romance genre with sub-genre of Interracial/Multi-cultural. There, I decided to write an alternative history romance. Once I returned home, I realized it is not as easy as all that and that research must be done!

As usual, I started off with the internet.  You would be surprise how few resources there are out there for regency romance. A few times I contemplated switching to the Georgian era but it just didn’t grab me like the regency did. And why was I so obsessed about research? Well, that era was very complicated even though it was only about nine years long. You see the fashion changed about three times–most notably the female fashion – from corset, to empire waist–then the waistlines began going lower and lower until they were back in corset. Fashion is important. I couldn’t just make it up as I went even in alternative history.  Anyway,  I found a few good ones who led me to Georgette Heyer’s World, a book written by Jennifer Kloester. Apparently, from what I was reading, this was the bible for those who wishes to write a romance set in the regency.  I wanted to buy my own but it was a bit pricey so I figured…

TO THE LIBRARY!!

I found the book at the library. But it wasn’t in the three branches around where I live. That means I had to put a hold on said book and waited until it was my turn, then I could only have it for three weeks. This book, I couldn’t put a second hold on it because there were people after me who required the book and I needed it. So, I bit the bullet and ordered it so I can have my own copy and use it for as long as I wish. Then I ordered another book about Regency fashion. That book took twice as long to get to me but I waited because this was a rare book that stopped printing years ago.

When I got the phone call the book was in and I could go and pick it up. I had to wait until the Monday, since they called me on the Saturday and the call was from some kind of automation voice, thing.  Okay, that’s weird enough. The Monday I went to the library, I stood at the desk and waited while the ladies converse among each other as if they didn’t see me which I know they did. They weren’t having a talk about books or about serving me. Irritated, I looked around, and found where I saw the books set up differently than others and wandered over to them. I figured out how to get my book and when I went back to the desk, the ladies were still at it. Since I was tired, coming home from work, I walked to the self-check out station and checked my book out.

Why am I writing a blog about this? W ell here it is. Remember the day when the library was a zone where it felt like a community? Or for those of us who love the written word, the library and the librarian were our safe haven. Remember when they would speak with us, encourage us to read more, suggest books, help us find books, and even looked out for us? It was a good time. But sadly, it seem like most other things in our world,d that’s slowly going downhill. Kids these days are already putting away books for TV, video games and the like. Can you imagine of they walked into a library and the librarians ignore them how much worse the decline in reading will get?

All I’m saying is, it takes two seconds to acknowledge someone–not even that much–and a minute to just ask if they need some help.

I walked in and they didn’t even look up at me. It was like I wasn’t even there. It made me sad that I went in, got what I needed and left without speaking once to anyone. I don’t know if I’m being weird but most of the wonderful books I’ve read in my life so far were suggestions by librarians. They fed my curiosity when it came to the world, those around me and the Atwood’s and McDonalds of the world. Suddenly I felt as if another part of my world had crumbled.

Hugs,

Kato

This entry was posted in: Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

