Events, Outings
Leave a Comment

Fighting Cancer with Sexy Firemen and women #TFC #Torontofire

A while ago, my friendship with one of my best friends was tested. How? She had tickets to go see firemen and ASKED if I wanted to go. Take a moment and think about this for a second. I write romance novels–of course I wanted to go. After I told her that we were going to have to talk about our friendship, I agreed.

Apparently, Toronto Fire has a calendar every year and with that calendar and process goes to benefit Cancer Research at the Princess Margaret Hospital. They have a launch party. This year, it was at Tattoo down on Queen west.  It was a task getting there. First of all we didn’t know where we were going so we met up at Yorkdale so we could plan. We wound up getting off at the wrong station (Union). Had to get back on the train and headed to Queen. But we did. When we came up from the subway, it had been raining.

I skipped my little black dress for a longer dress and instantly regretted it. There I was, running across rain soaked street, holding my dress up above my knees like a crazy person, squealing every time I stepped into a puddle that was deeper than I realized. I must have looked like a sight.

On the streetcar, we tried finding a spot that wasn’t soaking wet. Apparently when it rained really hard for a really long time, the old streetcars (that I love so much) leaks like crazy. When we were settled, both Aster and I tried desperately to figure out where we were going by using the maps on our phones. For some reason my map was sending us WAY past where were supposed to be. Luckily, Aster’s gave us a good place to get off. Once we did, we must have looked like a bunch of tourists because this lady took pity on us and asked if we were going to see the firemen.  When we said we were, she told us to follow her!

Marcus – Mr. June 2015

Tattoo nightclub is this epic and dark place with a marvelous dance floor and two bars.  There was a VIP section, a stage down the middle and seats along the side beneath the VIP. We instantly took our seats and I began looking for Firemen. They weren’t hard to spot and my camera came out immediately.

I’m going to be completely honest. When I walked into Tattoo with Aster and our friend X I thought for sure this was going to be one of nights where they stick to certain people and everyone else is just kind of sitting around drinking and dancing periodically to music that was popular years ago.  But the moment we sat down, we had a fireman at our table. The firemen and women were amazing.  They were upbeat, and friendly.  I got a copy of the 2015 Calendar for myself and Aster and then found out some of the men on the calendar were at the show. I instantly went on a hunt.  I met Marcus, Mr. June. Which was perfect because My birthday is in June. He was one of the nicest guys I ever met.  We took pictures together before he went on stage and afterward, he came back to chill with us for a little bit.

Sid the Magnificent

At the beginning we also met Sid.  Now you have to understand, by this time I was on overload.  But the music was good and then there was Sid.

He was this tall, gorgeous human being who was on shift when they called and asked if he’d like to participate in the show. He was on his first 24 hour when they called and being a trooper, he still came and on a show. He even stopped to talk with us.  He warned us he didn’t practice.  I don’t think we minded at all. On stage he was in a suit–very Men in Black, Blues Brother-ish. Of course the ladies went crazy for him. I am totally putting him in a story because he is just that gorgeous.

Stu the Candy-man

One more, Stu. Oh what can I say about Stu? He is beautiful, funny and was always photo-bombing everyone.  I’m going out on a limb here and say he loves blue. The thing about Stu is he always had a smile on his face. No matter what he’s doing, whether he was just standing around watching everyone else, or interacting. When I hijacked him to sign my calendar even though he wasn’t in the 2015 one, he was one of the kindest, sweeties guys. To me, he is this lovable, hug-able giant that just totally made my night. And he gave me candy so what’s not to love?

There were a couple of females that I got talking to. Ms. October – Christina,  was absolutely amazing. She signed my calendar, and even came by to talk to us after and before her performance. She surprised us too, she did Spanish dancing to Bailando which got my heart.

The other female I didn’t meet because she was always with someone someone when I got around to her and after she performed she wasn’t around much but she was a very good dancer. I think she got the loudest cheers for her performance.

All in all, it was a great night for a great cause. I had fun with my girls and wonderful people. What more could I possibly ask for?

Hugs,
Kat

This entry was posted in: Events, Outings

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

