Life Lessons, Rant-ish
Leave a Comment

Oh the Humanity #Clocktoshool #StandwithAhmed

I am so disappointed in the world we’ve become.  I know, bold statement but hold on, keep reading. We’ve become paranoid–every waking moment is spent watching those we believe to be the enemy, and thinking of every horrible thing the person beside us on the bus would do to us. We have the African American’s paranoid of the cops, the Muslims paranoid of everyone, the Natives Paranoid of Europeans, the LGBT community paranoid of the straight folks–it goes on and on.

What brought this on?

Recently, a little boy name Ahmed made a clock and brought it to school to show a teacher. Another teacher saw Muslim and clock and of course assumed it was a bomb. Cops were called, child embarrassed then to make it all worse–they suspend Ahmed! Wait, let me repeat that – he did something amazing and was rewarded by being called a terrorist!

Then, after I read the article I decided to scan the comments. Good lord people! I never saw so many racist comments in my whole life!

Capture Capture2

And those two aren’t the worse ones. The American public (because they are the ones I’m talking about right now) has disappointed me so desperately.  I never expected them to be like this. It is hard enough getting children to focus in school, to excel with all the stuff in the world today – yet here is one child who is obviously a bit of a brain and they treat him like he’s the problem. Then, instead of being outright OUTRAGED – they continue the hate. Do they have ANY idea how this made this child feel?

FILE - In this Sept. 17, 2015, file photo, Ahmed Mohamed gestures as he arrives to his family's home in Irving, Texas. The family of the 14-year-old Muslim boy who got in trouble over a homemade clock mistaken for a possible bomb has withdrawn the boy from his suburban Dallas high school Monday, Sept. 21. (AP Photo/LM Otero, File)

The Canadian Press – FILE

And one commenter said “when you get to Mecca, stay there..” Um, can I please point out how the Europeans came to be in power in this part of the world.  They aren’t exactly from around these parts – if you know what I mean. If you are not Native…

We have become a culture who run our mouths behind a the keyboard and to hell with the person you’re talking about and their feelings. Forgive my language but we’ve become a culture of assholes and we don’t seem to want to change. Every day I interact with people, eavesdrop on conversations, watching people, I realize we keep getting worse –more heartless.

Can you tell I’m irritated–hell, I am WAY past that.

I am disappointed. Sure, Ahmed is not your child but you should be angry for him. This hatred we’ve developed for the Muslim nation because of a few bad apples need to stop. It’s poisoning our children and turning our world into one big cesspool.

Bottom line? (This will be especially true when I have children) Support our kids when they do something positive. And that racism, that hatred you have for others that is on you–that is your bitterness, your darkness. When I send my kids to school, keep that crap to yourself. I don’t need you making my child feel like dirt because of your own prejudices.

Kato

This entry was posted in: Life Lessons, Rant-ish

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

