#Netflix, Reviews
Leave a Comment

Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries ##Roaring20s #Netflix

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries.jpgI’ve always been a huge fan of Miss Marple, and Hercule Poirot. After the unfortunate ending I was left a little bereft. It was by pure chance that I came across Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. I found it on PBS and I caught it at the second episode of the first season. Then I was sad after it was over so I hit Netflix to watch something else when I saw it on the top. I freaked out and started watching. For two days, I binged watched as much as work and life would allow and when I got to the end, I was really depressed. You see, out of the four reported seasons, Netflix only has the first two.

Essie Davis as Phyrne Fisher

This show is awesome. The show is set in the 1920’s and is centered around the free spirited lady Detective Phyrne Fisher and John “Jack” Robinson.  Then there’s Dot and Constable Colins as well as Bert and Cec. They are spectacular! The story is about murder most vile and lots of them. The torrid affair just keeps following Phyrne and her companion Dot around.

The bodies keel falling and stories are mixed with danger, romance and hilarity.  One thing you should know about Miss Fisher, she is a bit of a….well..to put it nicely, for a woman of the 20’s she sure gets around. And for the times they sure drink a lot of alcohol. There are a few things in the show that will not sit well with a few people like the random butt shots You have to watch this show with an open mind and heart.

Sometimes Miss Fisher can get a tad annoying. There is the typical “stay in the car” moment and Jack looks back and she’s right there. Sometimes she really should sit down and be quiet but she has no form of filter. That can be endearing in people but what I’m trying to say is sometimes she really should just be silent and watch for a bit. You’ll see what I mean when you watch.

I am still a bit confused as to why John’s nickname is John. It’s seems a little weird to me but perhaps it has something to do with his military days — who knows.

Miss Fisher’s has touched on everything from sexuality to sexism and as a fan I embrace it all.

Nathan Page as Det. John “Jack” Robinson

The costumes are amazing – Ever episode I found myself thinking I want her hats! 

All in all the show is amazing. A little of the writing can be hooky but the characters more than make up for it. The music music, technology, fashion, language–everything I’ve seen so far has been authentic.  The secondary characters like Mr. Butler, Bert and Cec, Dot and Constable Colins makes a refreshing addition to an already fabulous cast.

Check the show out – If you like shows like Murder She Wrote, Miss Marple, and Poirot you will enjoy this one.

Hugs,

Kato

This entry was posted in: #Netflix, Reviews

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

