Life Lessons
Leave a Comment

A New Year

Alan Rickman PictureIt is 2016!

Well, it became 2016 over 14 days ago and already the fates have conspired against the

nerds to make us cry. From the death of David Bowie, my beloved Ziggy Stardust to Professor Snape (for us cooler nerds we know Alan Rickman from Die Hard), 2016 isn’t starting out on the right foot at all.

 

Yes, I have been meaning to write here for some time now but I just couldn’t seem to gather my thoughts in a coherent order to do much of anything with a post.  Now that I’m actually typing this, I’m still a little befuddled about what I need to write to make much of any sense.

So, let’s start from December. I worked pretty much the whole month then took a couple of weeks off to spend time with my sisters across the border in Washington DC, New Jersey and Connecticut. I enjoyed it because we all got to sit around a table and have a meal, something we hadn’t been able to do in many years. The second reason I had a blast was because there was no snow over there and I was outside without a jacket on Christmas day! Yes folks, I am not a fan of snow.

Also in December we lost someone suddenly that rocked our world to the very foundation it stood on so shakily.

But as I reflect on the first 14 days of a new year and then look toward the things I know will have to change in my life, I find myself strangely pessimistic. From the economy’s downturn–again–(I mean the Canadian dollar right now? Forget about it!), to a big

Image result for david bowie

David Bowie

move, to my second romance convention in May to another Kpop concert–all of it seem to be barreling toward me like a runaway locomotive.

 

There are so many things I want to do this year–so many places I wish to see and people I want to meet. There are so many changes I wish to enact in my life–from the way I dress to the way I deal with people. I was always a polite person and sometimes I think people take that to mean I am weak.  This is the year I want to stand up and say, quite emphatically that enough is indeed that–enough. I won’t go as far as to say I will be starting a bucketlist or make resolutions. After-all, we never tend to keep those new year promises.  This has to be thought of as a lifestyle change.  Being more patient, positive and musical. I want to focus on my career and my art. simply put, I want to wake up in the mornings and smile–not because life is perfect. We all know perfection is a myth. but I want to wake up and smile because I am completely and simply–happy.

It is as simple and complicated as that.

2016 is the year we should focus on ourselves. Sure, many may call us selfish but if we aren’t happy and healthy, those around us will suffer. Clean out the bad karmas in your life and blow them away on the wind like a kiss.

This year, do the things which bring you joy. Hug your loved ones a little tighter. Take no friendships for granted. Laugh more. Love hard. Seek out the friends who make you feel as if you can do anything.

And for those who feel alone, like no one cares, seek the comfort of the place which brings you peace.

I wish for you and your families a prosperous new year, a year filled with happiness beyond your wildest imagination. And may all your wildest dreams come true.

Hugs as always,

Kato

 

 

 

This entry was posted in: Life Lessons

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

