Music and other art, Uncategorized
Comments 2

Cowboy Lullaby is back!

Cowboy LullabyA few years ago I got this crazy idea!

To self publish another book. You see, Broken Wings did remarkably well as a ebook and I thought, why not try it again! This time with a title I wrote a few years ago for NaNoWrimo month. It took some doing, a lot of work and tons of people helping me out but I finally have something I can present to the world. The first time I tried putting this book out there was a disaster. The edits were whack, the cover was messed up and I pulled it. Now, after commissioning Sara York to make me a new cover, Kali Willows to hook me up with a pack piece and spine design and gutting and rewriting, getting Beta readers, and my father (yes, my father) and a few other people to take a looksee, I know it’s not perfect, but it’s finished and has been loaded to Amazon and Createspace for Kindle and paperback distribution.  As I am preparing to get on a trian for #RTC2016, I am super pumped!

Cowboy Lullaby is already available for sale in print format. Amazon is doing it’s thing and will be putting it life for your Kindle soon. In the mean time, I believe the pre-order link is still live.

Here’s the blurb:

Abuse is something Jennifer Cozel knows very well.

Growing up with a father who hates her, Jennifer suffered through hell. After her father is killed in a drunk driving accident with no will, no money, eighteen year old Jennifer Cozel is left to fend for herself.

Years later, life is moving on in the small town of Barley. Jennifer settles into the mundane existence of small town waitress she believes she deserves. That is until Sherif Rone Jennings steps into her life with a glimpse into a world she so desperately yearns for.

But how do you fix someone that is so horribly broken?

Sheriff Rone Jennings takes one look at Jennifer Cozel and wants her. Something about her just screams a real woman. But getting to know the volutuous waitress is not easy with her fighting him at every turn. When he finds out about her past, will he run, or love her like no other?

EXCERPT:

The rain had long stopped pounding against the glass and the old tree just to the right of her window hadn’t crashed into the side of the house for a good ten minutes. Still those thoughts seemed almost trivial to what was happening inside Jennifer Cozel’s mind. Her heart didn’t care as well for it was too busy pounding inside her chest as though it wanted to hop out and run away. Another loud bang sounded from somewhere in the house and she jumped. Her eyes caught the chest behind the door then lifted to see if the door handle would twist to the right then to the left. When nothing happened but another loud crash of something hitting the wall hard, she shifted slightly to alleviate the pain her legs.

What day is it?

Jennifer trembled at her father’s footsteps storming through the house. He’d been on one of his binges again which put him in a mood. Two days of a steady intake of alcohol with no food always did that to him. Each morning she had to lug the bag of liquor bottles to the recycle bin at the back of the house once he’d gone off to work or fallen asleep after a night of hard drinking. Lately, she’d made more than two trips. How one person could drink so much and still be able to function was beyond her. The nights when his favorite baseball team lost were the worst and the mornings after even harder. She learned a long time ago to stay out of his way when he drank for when he was drunk the really mean side of him came out—which was all the time. The sad truth was Jennifer couldn’t remember a time when her father was sober. He drank to wake up, drank to fall asleep and drank to silence the demons inside his head. She often times heard him yelling at them when he wasn’t screaming at her. He drank when he was happy, when he was sad but most importantly, he drank whenever he looked at her then sobbed. As far as she knew his problem was her fault.

Whenever he was really hammered, he remembered his dead wife and Jennifer paid for it because he would break into her room and beat her until she was unconscious. Afterward, he’d fill a bucket with cold water and toss it in her face. That was a horrid way to wake anyone up for she’d jerk upright, screaming then clawing at her neck. The cold water against her body left her gasping for breath.

Jennifer would never get used to that.

She was in her final semester of high school and was pretty sure she would fail. She’d been cooped up in her room for three days for her father forbade her to go to classes. He didn’t give a reason. His word was law.

Maybe it was because he saw the happiness she felt because of school.  He couldn’t touch her while she was at school and every fibre of him hated that. When she was at school she was someone—people knew who she was and to them, her opinions mattered.

Then again, maybe it was because he knew the moment she was finished school she’d try and leave. If she failed no one would hire her. Who would hire a high school drop out?

After she turned eighteen, the county no longer required her to go to school. Which made no sense to her for that was when they should have been pushing her the last few steps so she’d finish.

He smirked when he told her she was no longer to leave the house.

Jennifer was terrified of what he’d do to her if she disobeyed, so she remained hidden in her room. If she missed too many classes no one would call the house or threaten to call child services. She held out no hope anyone would save her.

Legally she was an adult and if no one reported her missing, she would stay gone.

Whenever she heard the car leaving, she would peer out her window and watch until it was long  gone before tiptoeing out to get something to eat. But she couldn’t take anything he would miss.  Luckily she’d stashed a couple of Jamaican buns with a tin of cheese under her bed so all she really needed was water. As long as she didn’t open the can with the cheese, she could keep it hidden in her room for as long as she needed.

 

This entry was posted in: Music and other art, Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

2 Comments

  1. Melody says

    This is the first ebook I have read of yours and I loved it! As you say it was not perfect, needs a little more edits, but this did not take away from the story for me. I want to know if you are going to write stories for the other characters i.e. Darlene and Chance, Matt’s story, Michael. Anyway I’ll stop. Keep up the good writing. Thank you.

    • Hi Melody! Thank you so much. I did this whole book on my own, except the cover. A friend of mine is an editor and has offered to help me out with other self published works so the editing should be on point next time. I have been thinking of writing a couple more stories under the Lullaby heading but I took a year off writing and now I’m playing catch up with shorter pieces for a romance convention I’ll be attending in September. Once I have that tale squared away I will revisit the idea of a couple more stories for Lullaby. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

