Life Lessons, Rant-ish, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

#IStandWithOrlando

It seems lately, I’m posting these “Istandwith” hastags more and more. But before I go into what I want to say, let me preface by saying this. During this post when I say Americans, I’m not talking about all Americans, just the selected few who doesn’t seem to have the good sense God gave them. I am not an advocate. I don’t go out and protest or chain myself to trees or walk around naked with “still not asking for it” written across my breasts. I am a human being who believe hating someone else because of their sexuality, race, creed, gender -is just plain wrong. You don’t have to be an advocate to speak about injustice and stupidity.

Before the Orlando shooting, an armed gunman walked up to Voice contestant Christina Grimmie and opened fire. She’s 22 years old and dead. Before the world could come to turns with that, a day later, another mass shooting happened. This time the death toll was more significant and even more heart-wrenching. This time, a gunman walked into Pulse Night club in Orlando Florida and opened fire killing 50 and injuring about the same number more. The outrage I’ve seen gives me some hope for humanity, some hope for America but I can’t help thinking of the number of ways this shooting could have been prevented. Before I get to that let me say this.

For all those who are saying this gunman did “god’s work” let me say this. No matter what God you serve he/she didn’t want this. This is not God’s work. Ever religion has a commandment about killing people and they are against it. But let me speak as a Christian to those Pastors and others who preached on Sunday about how god is “punishing the gays” with this mass slaughter of innocent lives. The God that I serve said “Thou shall not kill”. He didn’t say thou shall not kill, except if it’s the gays then that’s okay. He didn’t say thou shall not kill, except if you’re doing it in my name, then that’s okay. He said thou shall not kill- PERIOD.

And we believe God created ALL life on this planet, and if there is any in the universe he made them as well. He created the night and the day. He created the plants and the animals–everything. Then why in the hell do you think he needs your help? If he’s against homosexuality don’t you think he can handle that himself? And did you completely not read the same bible I’ve been brought up with because it also says “love your brothers and sisters” and “Judge not lest ye be judged.” Why is it when we do such horrible things, when we hurt each other so irreparably, we quote the bible like that should make the horrible things we’ve done to each other okay? Let me be clear GOD DOES NOT NEED YOUR HELP!

I am outraged by those people who say “gun control would not have helped in this shooting.” How in the hell do you know? Have you tried it? You don’t know if it could have made a difference and saved some lives because Americans seem to have no interest in anyone else’s welfare but their own.  ((remember when I say Americans, I don’t mean all, I mean the selected few). As long as the shoe is not on the other foot they could care less. Americans are going by some archaic writings that said every American has the right to bear arms. Why? Why is it you have the right to bear arms?  At this point in our lives, in the world we live in, with the idiots and mentally compromised, why is it that owning a gun is still a right?  This is question people need to start standing up and asking their politicians. Don’t be afraid. Open your mouths and say something!

A background check is like putting up a picket fence to keep wild horses in. It is nothing. All an American has to do, is walk into a gun store, pick out the tools of other people’s demise, submit to a background check and a few days later walk in and pick up their gun or guns. Does that seem like enough protection for the public to you?

Every time something like this happens, the public cry out for gun control and after a few weeks, after CNN stop relishing in the demise of the lost, the American public goes quiet and life goes on and the people who lost a loved one has to wake up the next morning and re-live the fact their loved one is no longer walking this planet. The rest of us move on like nothing happened and when a mass shooting like this happens again we cry out, blame the Muslims and he cycle continues.

Being Muslim has nothing to do with what happened at Pulse. Being evil and American entitlement is what caused what happened at Pulse. I’ve spoken to many Muslims and they are outraged and saddened by what happened. Why they do not believe in homosexuality they believe in not taking a human life. A few of them told me this shooter will have to answer for what he’s done and that should give me some form of comfort, I still feel numb.

It seems to me, the LGBT community now has to fight for their right to exist. They have to prove day in and day out that they are humans. I don’t understand it. I don’t understand why as human beings we keep finding so many ways to tear down others. I can’t wrap my mind around why these 50 persons had to die. Forget the gay label for a second – these are human beings. They were someone’s lover, father, brother – they were loved by someone.

It shouldn’t be a right to own a weapon. It should be a right to life and to happiness. Those are rights. I think the problem is many Americans don’t know the difference in meaning between right and privilege. As humans we tend to not step back and think about what we do to others. We don’t think of the pain we cause. We take life like there will be no consequence and we do things in the name of God when God didn’t ask us to do it. We use books that were written thousands of years ago to police an ever changing world and we can’t do that. The world isn’t like it was in Abraham’s time. Hell, the world isn’t like it was when I was a child in the late eighties. We have to change out way of thinking we have to think of what will make this planet better and make those rights. Owning a weapon, owning a gun shouldn’t be a right.

And then to add insult to injury, blood banks are turning LGBT people away who want to give blood to save the victims of #PublseOrlando. What? You don’t have enough blood to save lives and people are giving you blood and you’re turning them away? So you would rather have more dead than accept the blood of an LGBT person? What you’re telling me, it’s okay to spill LGBT blood but it can’t be used to save someone’s life.

Again, priorities people. A life saved is better than a life lost. How dare you make that decision for someone else? You can’t catch gay. Even through a blood transfusion, you can’t catch gay. Blood should ALWAYS go through rigorous screening before given to a recipient so if you have to say “no gay blood please” I’m going to start assuming that when you get blood from a straight person it doesn’t go through enough screening before given to someone else–after all it’s “Straight” blood so why worry? Is that it?

First you take away the right for the LGBT to exist, then you take away their right to feel human, now you’re taking away their right to save their friends. Way to go America! For a country that preaches  that “you can be anything you want to be” I think you forgot to tell people that they can be anything they want to be except gay. Stop lying to people. Call it what it is. Why do I say that? Well, if a straight person wants to give blood to save a life, no one stops them but if a gay person wants to it’s against the rules. Obviously, you’re not making it easy to save a gay life. And that, is downright depressing and sad. Please, let these LGBT give blood to save their friends. They already feel helpless right now and you’re further making it worse by denying them this.

Kato

 

This entry was posted in: Life Lessons, Rant-ish, Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

