Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Life Changes are Scary

You may have noticed I haven’t really posted anything in a while. Well, I have a good reason for that. I took the giant step of moving out on my own. Let me tell you how scary and how much work that is. At the beginning the task of packing up twenty years of my life was daunting. It was insane. I walked into my bedroom then and looked around and broke into tears. Think about it, all the crap you bring into your place, how much of it do you actually take out? Just garbage–that’s right. So where does the rest of it go? In every nook and cranny of your life. Image result for moving

So that was the first major roadblock. Then comes finding movers. I dug through the internet, hearing horror stories after horror stories. From rude movers, to movers not showing up on time to them breaking things or lying about insurance to taking off too much money from the credit card–I was floored. For almost two months, I packed and searched. I started calling up different movers and the quoted prices were a joke. One company told me they charge $150 per hour for a minimum of four hours and they started charging you the moment the movers left their office to come to you. I laughed and asked “Does anyone fall for that?” She sounded a bit annoyed but I didn’t care. Obviously that is highway robbery and not fair to the customer.

Just before I left for New Brunswick (will post about that later) I so happen to be going through the hoard of Yelp reviews. I was almost ready to give up and just go live under a bridge with all my junk when I came across the guys at Let’s Get Moving. Out of all the reviews, not one person had something bad to say about them and I was skeptical. Of course – I mean there has to be something wrong with that picture, right?

Anyway, I gave them a call and spoke with Tiam. Speaking to Tiam took some of the stress off because first he was polite and calm. The way he spoke told me he knew his business and was very interested in getting mine. He explained everything to me, how they worked, what they do etc. Then he asked me questions, I guess to figure out the kind of Image result for let's get moving movers torontomove and what I would need then quoted me a price of $95 an hour with a minimum of 4 hours. I asked about insurance and yup, they are insured. I went away feeling relieved and ready.

Moving day finally rolled around and the guys impressed me by showing up early. I wasn’t home because honestly I was preparing to have to wait until they showed. I quickly finished what I was doing and hurried home and after getting a lay of the land, they set to work. Polite, hardworking, funny guys. They were so good even my father was impressed and that man is not easily impressed. After they finished everything, he called me to ensure that I tipped them. They were so good of course I couldn’t let them go without that. I was very happy because they made my moving day a hell of a lot less stressful than it could have been so I’m thankful for that.

So now, I adulated on Sunday and bought my first piece of furniture, a table that will double as my writing desk and it was delivered on Labour Day which shocked me. Plus I have internet people coming on Sunday to hook a girl up – YAY! Until then, I’ll be a little scarce.

Hugs,

Kato

 

This entry was posted in: Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

