Book Stuff, Music and other art, Reviews, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Queen Midas In Reverse

Image resultOkay, honestly, I read this story without reading the blurb. I thought it had something to do with a girl with powers to change things from gold to something weird or to reverse anything turned to gold by magic. Yeah, nothing like that. You should probably read the blurb first lol. And the cover had me thinking royalty, but nope, none there either. Anyway, here is the blurb, read it first – seriously – read it.

The Rock and Roll Fantasy gang find themselves in a special Contemporary Romance from USA Today Bestselling Author Diane Rinella.

For Jacqueline, a second date is as rare as a unicorn. She’s beautiful. She’s intelligent. So why is she experiencing a string of first dates that leaves her ducking behind bushes and running for buses? Contrary to her nature, trading in her heels and curling iron for an easy chair surrounded by cats sounds appealing. Is she cursed, or can she find the man who will steal her heart.

Let’s start off y saying this. I usually cannot stand stories written in the first person present tense. Nothing grates on my nerves more than reading a book that tells a story as if it’s happening as I read the book. I love a story that tells the story as if it already happened and the narrator is well, for lack of a better term, telling me the story. So that was a little ick for me.

Queen Midas in Reverse itself is super short. For all you know me and my tastes in romance I love two POV’s, the main female and the main male and that’s it. This story has a third but isn’t as problematic but just surprising. I could have done with a little more of the story because it was so fast and ending a little abruptly. I wanted more romance, more softness, more.

Let me break it down. The characters are awesome – there is absolutely no doubt about that. I am a SUCKER for friendship in a story–especially strong female ones. There is nothing like having that awesome person who is there with a kick in the pants if you need one or a hug or who will literally throat-punch a sucker for messing with you. That I am down with 100%.  When I read secondaries, there has to be a reason they are in the story. And these women had purpose and further the story beautifully.

Whenever my niece reads one of my books, I usually get a phone call that goes “Seriously aunty? You are mean to your characters.” But I should let her read Queen Midas in Reverse.  It’s not mean where Ms. Rinella kills off half the characters then sits back and go “take that suckas!” No, this was the kind of mean that had me going “oh no she did not just do that!” And at one point I was looking at my tablet screen going – in the middle of a food court saying out loud “This cannot possibly get any worse!” And then it did! Hilariously!

Jacqueline – Lawd I thought I had bad luck with men. And the “dark reaping”? I couldn’t breathe I was laughing so hard. I can totally relate with going out with a guy because he looks “normal” and then gets hit with a double uppercut when he turns out to be nuttier than a fruitcake.

This story will have you giggling and laughing out loud. I did enjoy it. It’s a tale that will keep you from going psycho on the streetcar as you’re stuck in rush hour traffic. You will love Jacqueline dearly and her friends are a riot. I really do wish it was longer and we could see more of mister hottie with the gorgeous eyes.

Stalk–er I mean–visit Diane Rinella here. You can find all her goodies there.  Snag your copy of Queen Midas in Reverse here.

Hugs

Kato

This entry was posted in: Book Stuff, Music and other art, Reviews, Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

