Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

#Ology by Gallant

Where do I even start with this album and singer?

If Keith Sweat, R.Kelly and Smoky Robinson had a love child….

So the last FULL album I’ve purchased–well the last English album was “Unbreakable” Image resultand from my review, you can see I wasn’t impressed.  So, after that, I’ve been gunshy to go out and auto buy people’s albums these days.

Then the lord blessed my ears with Gallant.

There’s a backstory here. I have to admit the only reason I know about him is because of Tablo from Epik High. Yes, Epik High is a Korean group – Hip Hop mostly and Tablo is their rapper. This cat is straight up dope, I am not even gonna lie. And to add to his fantastic self, he is super bright. Anyway, Tablo and another singer, Eric Nam did a song with Gallant called Cave Me In. When I heard that song that first day, I listened to it all day at work–am talking on repeat. Then I went home and listened to it until I fell asleep.

The next day, I woke up and went digging for who this Gallant person was and I hit the mother load. This guy is truly talented and he doesn’t need gimmicks. Every song he’s dropped so far has smashed my brain. I am now actually looking for a song I’ll hate by him because he’s been perfect so far.

His debut album was called Zebra and that dropped in 2014. His latest album Ology dropped in 2016 and I’m late to the party but holy hell I’m glad I’m here.

When I say every song he’s dropped so far has smashed my brain, that’s what I mean.

Bourbon, Skipping Stones, Open Up, Miyazaki (is in English no matter what the title says), Weight in Gold – to name a few, all brings me back to those days when R. Kelly was truly the king.

As a writer, I’m always on the lookout for musicians and music to inspire me. More so now than ever because I tend to go through crazy bouts of writer’s block. And my lord does this guy deliver.

So, ever since Sam Smith dropped his album, I’ve been buying an album for my birthday. This year, Ology was the pick and I am so happy I bought it. If this was a CD, I’d have run that thing into the ground already.

The first time I listened to this album, the whole album, I packed a bottle of water and my sunglasses. I headed down to the lake, spread my blanket and got comfy.  In that moment I was the only person on earth.

Let me say this – Gallant makes intellectual music.

What do I mean by that?

Every song on this album is a contemplative, source of brilliance that that shocks me every time I listened to it. I’d given up on RnB–I mean, if you listen to half the stuff out today you would understand why. But the feelings that rage through me hearing these songs take me on a creative journey I didn’t think was possible anymore.  Gallant uses the English language like a needle to weave beautiful imagery with his voice that I can’t help but be sucked in by.

Ology is a journey and every song takes you a little further, add a little more spice and pushes you to the next. It’s impossible not to go from one song out the next–one step after the next. From Blood + Tissue To Chandra I am breathless every time I listen to this album. I could be sitting quietly, and a lyric from one of this song pops into my head and I tremble – it’s that profound.

I can go on and on – But listen for yourself. His singles are all on youtube and you can buy his album on iTunes. Trust me – you NEED to hear Ology. It will change your life.

Hugs,

Kato

This entry was posted in: Uncategorized

by

They call me Kat, or Kitty Kat. I am a 34 year old Legal Admin Assistant by day, sensual, interracial romance author by night writing under Kadian Tracey and Kendra Mei Chailyn. I'm the best selling author of Broken Wings, Made to Bend Not Break, Cowboy Lullaby, A Lover’s Wish, Kiss It Better, GSG 9: CIRO: Miracle and the Beast (in the Susan Stoker Kindle World), SURRENDER: Prey and The Shadowcat Series. My life is pretty much spent tapping away at keyboards either at my day job or my evening job (writing). What will this blog be about? Well, aside from my writing, someone told me recently that there is plenty of fun to be had in Toronto at 33 years old and single! So, I’ve decided to have a little fun! I am hoping this fun will parley into more stories, novels and an evolution in my writing as well as a deeper understanding of myself. This blog is to talk about my day, things I see, people I interact with, music, art, what's happening in the world and events I attend! Here’s hoping I can make you smile and grow in the process!

Leave a Reply

